Conference Commitee

The Conference Committee plans the annual conference and trade show. The Conference Program Committee is responsible for the development, confirmation and coordination of the educational programing.

2015 Conference Co-Chairs

Jasper Halt, Librarian
Florence Community Library
1000 S. Willow St.
Phone: (520) 868-8311
[email protected]
Ann Leonard, Librarian, Adult Programming
Tempe Public Library
Phone: (480) 350-5521
[email protected]

Program Co-Chairs

Elizabeth Matson
Queen Creek Library
21802 S Ellsworth Rd.
Queen Creek, AZ
[email protected]
Samuel Dyal, Asst Librarian
Arizona State University Libraries
PO Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: (480) 965-3605
[email protected]

2015 Conference Committee Roster

Committee Leadership:

Comprised of Co-Chairs, Program Co-Chairs, select AzLA Board Members, and Associaton Staff

Jasper Halt, Co-Chair
Ann Leonard, Co-Chair
Dan Stanton, President
Amber Mathewson, President-elect
Ann Boles, Past President
Debbie Hanson, Association Manager
Mari Barron, Association Staff
Denise Keller, AzLA Treasurer
Joyce Martin, AzLA Secretary
Lizzie Matson, Program Subcommitee Co-Chair
Samuel Dyal, Program Subcommittee Co-Chair
Kerrell Farmelant, Next Great Event, Conference Managers (Exhibitors & Exhibit Hall)

Program Subcommittee:

Comprised of Program Subcommittee Chairs, Interest Group, Division, & Committee Chairs, and Program Liaisons


Samuel Dyal, Co-Chair

Division Representatives

Cate McNamara, College & University Libraries Division (CULD)
PJ Purchase, College & University Libraries Division (CULD)
Anbolyn Potter, Public Libraries Division (PLD)
Shirley Berow, Teacher Libraries Division (TLD)
Ruth Kneale, Special Libraries Division (SLD)

Interest Group Representatives

Lauren Regenhardt, Arizona Librarians for Young Adult Services (ALYAS)
Leigh Brown, Government Information Interest Group (GIIG)
Dana Shreve, International Interest Group (IIG)
Jacqueline Higgins-Dailey, Kids Issues, Development, and Support Interest Group (KIDS)
Gina Kelley, Information Services Interest Group (ISIG)
Naomi Bishop, Native American Library Interest Group (NALIG)
Joseph (Bob) Diaz, Services to Diverse Populations Special Interest Group
Eileen Jaffe, Technical Services Interest Group (TSIG)

Committee Representatives

Ingrid Trebisky, Awards Committee
Ann Boles, Elections & Appointments Committee
n/a, Governance & Bylaws Committee
Alexandra Humphreys, Horner Fellowship Committee
Ashley Ferguson, Intellectual Freedom Committee
Coni Weatherford & Erin Macfarlane, Legislation Committee
Mike Beck, Marketing & Advocacy Committee
Sandy Edwards, Membership Committee
Niamh Wallace, Newsletter Committee
Rebecca Blakiston, Professional Development Committee
Holly Henley, SIRLS Advisory Committee
Andrew See, Web & Social Networking Committee


Jaime Ball, Preconference/Roundtable Liaison
Ashley Ferguson, Poster/Blitz Session Liaison

Communications & Online Marketing Subcommittee:

Pam Beerens, Program Book & App Liaison
Ann Leonard & the AzLA Web Committee, Marketing Liaison
Amanda Brite, Website Liaison

Awards & Authors Subcommittee:

Cheryl McCurry, Author Committee Co-Chair
Jennifer Whitt, Author Committee Co-Chair
Ingrid Trebisky, AzLA Service Awards Liaison
Kerrlita Westrick, Grand Canyon Reader Awards Liaison
Shirley Berow, Grand Canyon Reader Awards Liaison
Toby Smitt, President of Libraries Ltd and main contact – Judy Goddard/Libraries Limited Awards Liaison
…, YA Award, Judy Goddard/Libraries Limited Awards Liaison
…, Children’s Award, Judy Goddard/Libraries Limited Awards Liaison

Logistics & Events Liasons/Coordinators:

Donna Throckmorton, Hospitality Coordinator
Sandy Edwards, Membership Booth Coordinator
Debbie Hanson (AzLA Administrator), Registration
Mari Barron (AzLA Administrator – Assistant), Registration
Kerrell Farmelant, Next Great Event, Registration & Exhibitor Liaison
Cherise Mead, Raffle Gift Basket (conf charity) Coordinator
Ricky Salazar, SIRLS Representative
Holland Christie & Theresa Alarid, Volunteers Coordinator
Erin Lorandos, Scholarships
Erin Lorandos, Volunteer Photographer
Patricia Watkins, Volunteer Photographer
Donna Martellotto Boyce, Volunteer Photographer
Pam Schwarz, Volunteer Photographer